The Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women Breakfast

March 18, 2014 @ 11:45 am – 2:30 pm
University of North Florida, UNF Student Union
Ten local women who have made outstanding contributions to the Jacksonville community were selected by the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women for recognition as 2014 Women’s History Month honorees. These women epitomize this year’s theme, Standing Strong, Standing Together: Jacksonville Women Working to Create a Stronger Community!

The Commission, in partnership with the University of North Florida, will host a breakfast reception in their honor during Women’s History Month in March.


  • Sandy Bartow
  • Susan Ponder-Stansel
  • Patricia “Pat” S. Blanchard
  • Brenda Simmons-Hutchins, Ph.D.
  • Amy Buggle
  • Judith A. Smith, D.M.
  • Elexia Coleman-Moss
  • Ann E. A. Williams, Ph.D.
  • Donna Orender
  • Carolyn Williams, Ph.D. (posthumous)

As is the commission’s tradition, four of the announced honorees will be featured on a specially designed commemorative poster, which will be unveiled at the breakfast. The poster will then be placed in the UNF Thomas G. Carpenter Library where the permanent collection of commemorative posters is exhibited. The poster honorees were selected from the nominations received from individuals, women’s organizations, agencies and businesses.

The cost to attend the event is $20 each and corporate tables are available. To register, call (904) 630-1618 by Friday, March 7. Checks should be made payable to the Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women and mailed to City Hall, 117 West Duval Street Suite 275, Jacksonville, FL 32202, Attention: Alaina Reaves.